ALLEGIANCE: WAR OF FACTIONS - 1ST EDITION SET FAQ

February 25, 2005

Back to regular version

The Glory of Kalim

Bishop Ospin
- "Bishop Ospin can attack either hand-to-hand or ranged." This ability lets Bishop Ospin temporarily lose the ranged ability should the controller desire.
- By attacking hand-to-hand, Ospin can use items or bonuses that normally only apply to melee troops (such as using a sword to increase offense).

Hadrim Macorvis
- Hadrim's wound-taking ability merely changes the target of wound the troop that originally was to be wounded is not considered to have been wounded any longer, and the wound is never placed on that troop. Hadrim takes the wound instead of the target troop.

Sorvin Dembruk
- Sorvin's come into play ability will only let you search through your personality pile.

House Mosfin

Domian Rickson
- Domian's come into play ability does not destroy the zero-cost building, it forces the player to discard it from play
- This ability can only be used on another player's structure.
- This ability MUST be used (if possible) when Domian comes into play it is not an optional ability.
- This ability does not trigger when Domian changes alliances. If a lord plays Domian and another lord already has him in play, he is not considered to be coming into play again, and the ability does not trigger.
- This ability may not target a card in any zone other than that player's holdings. It cannot target a card in hand, a card under another card (such as in a Storehouse), or in a discard/dead pile. The target card must be in play.
- This ability can be used on any structure that has a printed cost of 0. It cannot be used on a structure whose cost was reduced in some way.

Lerimar Rickston
- When both Lerimar and Domian Rickson are in play, treat Lerimar's political strength and faction influence as though they were both printed at 2.
- This ability is not considered to increase the numbers (i.e. it does not give +1), but is considered to replace them.

Orea Falant
- Orea's come into play ability does not kill the citizen, it forces the player to discard it from play.
- This ability can only be used on another player's personality.
- This ability must be used (if possible) when Orea comes into play it is not an optional ability.
- This ability does not trigger when Orea changes allegiances (switches to another lord's control by a second copy being played). If a lord plays Orea and another lord already has her in play, she is not considered to be coming into play again, and the ability does not trigger.
- This ability may not target a card in any zone other than that player's holdings. It cannot target a card in hand, a card under another card (such as in a Storehouse), or in a discard/dead pile.
- This ability can be used on any personality that has current political strength of 1 or less. It can be used on a citizen whose political strength has been lowered by some means. It only looks at the current political strength, and not the printed political strength.

Wall Archer
- The Wall Archer is considered to be "defending his lord's holdings" when an attack has been declared against his lord and the Wall Archer is participating in the battle.
- "A wall is present" means that a wall must be in play under the Wall Archer's lord's control, and that it must be participating in the battle.

Veteran's Guild

Bannion Rowens
- Bannion receives only a single +2 offense vs. structures if Calowen is in battle with him the cards bonuses do not stack, but instead are a single +2 offense for each.
- "In battle with Bannion" means that Calowen and Bannion are both in combat in the same zone. They do not need to be controlled by the same player.
- The +2 offense bonus applies only if Bannion is assigned to a structure. Due to Bannion also having the Raze ability, Bannion will get a total of +5 offense if assigned to a structure with Calowen in the same battle.

Calowen Rowens
- Calowen receives only a single +2 offense vs. structures if Bannion is in battle with him the cards bonuses do not stack, but instead are a single +2 offense for each.
- "In battle with Calowen" means that Bannion and Calowen are both in combat in the same zone. They do not need to be controlled by the same player.
- The +2 offense bonus applies only if Calowen is assigned to a structure. Due to Calowen also having the Raze ability, Calowen will get a total of +5 offense if assigned to a structure with Bannion in the same battle.

Gavin Holdspring
- Gavin's influence-collecting ability takes the influence from the city pool.

Knight
- If the Knight is attacking a lord, he effectively gains the text "Pay 2 influence of any type to Knight's controller to send Knight home and remove him from this battle." This must be done during the modification step of combat.

Nadine Entara
- Nadine's come-into-play ability is not a "may" you must exhaust a troop controlled by another player. "Must" abilities are not made optional by the "I Forgot" rule.

Siege Engineer
- Siege Engineer gains +5 offense whenever he is assigned to a wall.

Wall Archer
- The Wall Archer is considered to be "defending his lord's holdings" when an attack has been declared against his lord and the Wall Archer is participating in the battle.
- "A wall is present" means that a wall must be in play under the Wall Archer's lord's control, and that it must be participating in the battle.

Wanderers

Blood Feeder
- Blood Feeder's vitality counter ability happens immediately when a wanderer dies, and thus can save the Blood Feeder from dying should it receive enough wounds to kill it.
- Vitality counters are removed before normal wounds are scored. Removal of vitality counters is still considered a wound.

Frost Giant
- Frost Giant's exhaust ability may be used by whoever controls the Frost Giant.

Goblin Chieftain
- Goblin Chieftain receives +1 offense from himself, as he is a goblin.

Goblin Priest
- Goblin Priest's pray ability may be used by whoever controls the Goblin Priest.
- Goblin Priest may pray for troops, wanderers, or structures, whether present at the battle or not, just like any other card with the pray ability.

Lich
- Lich's vitality counter ability happens immediately when a troop is wounded by the Lich, and thus can save the Lich from dying should it receive enough wounds to kill it.
- Vitality counters are removed before normal wounds are scored. Removal of vitality counters is still considered a wound.

Ooze
- Ooze cannot be killed, and if wounded it does not count as having killed a wanderer. If a wound is scored ooze is defeated and a bounty is collected, but Ooze does not die.

Orc Warlord
- Orc Warlord receives +1 offense from himself, as he is an orc.

Rock Giant
- Rock Giant receives +1 offense and +1 defense for each structure that its controller has in play it does not look at the number of structures that its owner has in play, but its controller.
- If a lord attacks a Rock Giant that is in play in his wanderer row, control of the Rock Giant passes to his left. The Rock Giant's bonus is now based on that structure count of the controlling player, not the Rock Giant's owner's.

Shifter
- Shifter only gains the printed offense and defense of its primary assignment. It does not gain benefit from any joint attack assignments or separate attack assignments against it.
- Shifter does not gain the abilities or benefits of any other cards affecting its assignment.

Siren
- Siren's exhaust ability may be used by whoever controls the Siren.

Skeleton Warrior
- The offensive bonus is based on the number of Skeleton Warriors in play, and each gains a bonus for each other, not the total number.
- For example, one Skeleton Warrior has an offense of 1, two have an offense of 2, three have an offense of 3, etc.

Soul Stealer
- When Soul Stealer wounds a troop, that troop's card type changes to wanderer. It can no longer be affected by cards or abilities that affect troops, and it can now only be affected by cards or abilities that affect wanderers.
- A troop wounded by Soul Stealer adds to the wanderer count, just as any other wanderer would.
- The aggression of the wounded troop is equal to its printed offense.
- The wounded troop stops being a wanderer when a wound is successfully scored on it. A wound scored, and then healed somehow would convert the troop back to normal. However, a wound that is prevented, or otherwise considered to not have taken place, would not return the wounded troop to normal.

Spectre
- The Spectre's ability cost is paid to the City's Influence Pool.

The Cimeon
- On a result of 1 on the aggression check for The Cimeon, he attacks his owner. Make aggression checks for its owner's wanderers as normal (this does not automatically cause all wanderers to attack, nor does it cause all of its owner's wanderers to attack unless they all become aggressive due to their aggression checks).
- In the case of a 1 on the aggression check, followers join the battle normally.
- The Cimeon may be bribed with 3 tokens regardless of whom it is attacking.

Events

Arson
- The cost to use Arson is the actual cost paid to bring the structure into play. Thus, a structure played by discarding a Lumber Mill has an Arson requirement that is 4 less as well.
- A Structure that burns down due to Arson is considered to be destroyed if it is a unique structure, and is thus placed in the dead pile.

Black Plague
- The general event negated by Black Plague does not occur, and instead goes to its owner's discard pile.
- Personalities discarded in this way are not killed.
- Although Black Plague cannot be interrupted, you may play any reaction abilities while it resolves.

Blackmail
- If the target does not have 3 personalities, then the lord playing Blackmail chooses whether 3 tokens will be given or whether 3 personalities will be exhausted.
- If the target does not have 3 tokens, then the lord playing Blackmail chooses whether 3 tokens will be given or whether 3 personalities will be exhausted.
- If the target does not have either 3 personalities or 3 tokens, then the lord playing Blackmail chooses whether 3 tokens will be given or whether 3 personalities will be exhausted.
- If the target has both 3 personalities and 3 tokens, then the target chooses whether 3 tokens will be given or whether 3 personalities will be exhausted.
- The lord being Blackmailed chooses which tokens to give, or which personalities to exhaust.
- A lord may target himself with Blackmail, as it does not specify "target opponent."
- You cannot respond to the playing of Blackmail by giving away/loaning influence tokens.

Call of the Wild
- The +2 increase to aggression ratings ends at the end of the phase.

Corrupt Gatekeeper
- Corrupt Gatekeeper lets you reassign two troops previously assigned to a wall.
- Corrupt Gatekeeper cannot be used if there is not at least one troop currently assigned to a wall.
- If more than 2 troops are assigned to a wall, then the lord playing Corrupt Gatekeeper can choose which go through.

Dark Tidings
- Nothing happens if the result of the roll is 3-6.

Deadly Storm
- Cannot be played if you control less than two ranged troops in the battle.
- Ranged troops gained through the support ability do count towards the pre-requisite.
- For the purposes of this card, troops are considered to have ranged if they are attacking during the ranged combat resolution step.
- Troops that have the ranged ability but are attacking in a joint attack with non-ranged troops are not considered to have ranged for the purposes of this card.
- If the ranged troop that receives the second target is in a joint attack, the other troops in the joint attack do not contribute in the attack on the second target.
- Bishop Ospin does not have the ranged ability if he chooses to attack hand-to-hand.

Desperation
- This card may only be used after a wound has been scored on your troop in combat.
- Desperation assigns a wound regardless of the defense of the opposing troop/wanderer.

Earthquake
- Earthquake can negate any type of event, unless the event specifically states that it cannot be interrupted.
- Each player rolls for the structures and personalities under their control.

Escape Route
- Can be used to remove a wanderer from battle.
- May be played in-between the ranged and fleetfoot resolution steps, or in-between the fleetfoot and normal melee steps.

Festival of Lights
- For each troop of his that a lord wishes to keep unexhausted, he must pay 2 influence.

Find Cover!
- Any troop attacking during the ranged step of combat resolution instead attacks during the 3rd step of combat resolution (normal melee).
- This only affects troops participating in this battle, and the effect lasts until the battle ends.

Fire!
- Fire! negates the event that it interrupts.
- Fire! causes the player to discard that many structures. They are not considered destroyed, so unique structures do not go to the dead pile.

Healing Herbs
- Cannot be used to prevent a personality from dying.
- Cannot be used to heal one troop more than one wound. Each of three different troops can heal up to one wound each.

Laughing Stock
- Tokens paid to campaign for the citizen's favor must be paid to the City's Influence Pool, not to the lord playing Laughing Stock.
- The targeted citizen must be exhausted.
- Laughing Stock cannot target a troop.
- If the citizen's lord cannot pay the 3 influence tokens (or chooses not to), then the citizen is merely discarded, not killed.

Legal Injunction
- This ability is played as an interrupt.
- When played, the targeted political action is negated.

Lethal Blow
- Lethal Blow can only target a troop or wanderer that is exhausted before the current phase of combat resolution. Thus, a troop wounded during ranged resolution could be hit with a Lethal Blow during the fleetfoot or melee phase of combat resolution.
- If a wound is scored against the target and it was exhausted before the current combat resolution phase then it is killed, regardless of its current vitality.

No Confidence
- If more players vote "for," then nothing happens to the target personality.
- If more players vote "against," then the player who controls the target personality must discard it.
- If the vote is tied, the controller of the personality rolls a die representing "for," while the lord who played No Confidence rolls a die representing "against." The higher result determines the tie-breaker.

Noble Heart
- When played, target a troop, who immediately takes one wound, exhausts, and gains the Defender ability.
- If the wound would normally kill the target (i.e. bring it to zero vitality), it does not die from the use of Noble Heart until the combat is resolved.
- A target with no vitality (due to using Noble Heart) may still die before the end of the battle if he is wounded further.

Pious Heart
- This can only target a personality that you control, who has been targeted by an invocation.
- Play this card as a reaction.

Retreat!
- Can be played any time before die rolls are made in a battle.
- Any troops that have assignments may not reassign, even if their assignments are no longer in the battle.
- If Retreat! is played by a lord whose holdings have been attacked, and it is played before assignments are made, the enemy troops may assign normally (thus potentially targeting structures within the city).
- Retreat! may not be used to send home troops controlled by another lord.
- Retreat! gives all troops controlled by the lord playing it the option to return home. They need not all return home.
- If the lord playing Retreat! has accepted support troops from another lord, both the lord controlling the troops and the lord owning the troops must agree that they are sent home.
- Retreat! May be played at any time before a combat roll. This means it may be used during assignments.

Silver Tongue
- Cannot be played as a reaction.

Thick Fog
- Thick Fog must be played before the movement phase begins.
- When played, the battle immediately ceases, and both wanderers and troops return home.

Tornado
- Players may only discard structures from play, and may not discard them from any other zone of the game.
- Structures that are placed on other structures (such as the Bell Tower) do count as valid choices to discard.
- If a structure has another structure on it (such as the Bell Tower), and it is discarded in this way, the structure on it also counts as one of the choices.

War!
- A lord may be forced to assign wounds to his own troops, if he controls the only troops left in play.

Invocations

Curse
- The target is chosen when Curse is used.
- If the target's lord cannot pay the influence tokens required, the troop is discarded, not killed.
- Can be used on any troop, not just one controlled by an opponent.
- If the troop takes any amount of wounds that do not kill it, then the payment must be made or the troop is discarded.
- If the troop takes an amount of wounds that would kill it, no payment is required, though the troop does go to the dead pile if applicable.
- Following each step of combat resolution, check to see if the troop has been wounded. If so, it immediately resolve the Curse effect. This could remove the troop from combat early (such as following the ranged resolution step). Should this occur, other troops assigned to the target may not reassign.
- If the wound is prevented, such as by a card like Divine Salvation, then Curse's effect does not trigger.

Divine Intervention
- The target card does not go to the discard pile or dead pile it returns to the lord's hand.
- If the cost of the card was reduced in some way (for instance, through a College), the lord activating Divine Intervention takes this into account when figuring the amount to pay.
- Does not prevent the target card from being played later in the round.

Divine Salvation
- If a wound is prevented through Divine Salvation, the wound is not considered to have taken place, and any effects that may trigger as a result of a wound being scored do not trigger for this particular wound.

Divining Hand
- The lord activating Divine Hand does not add the chosen card to his own hand.
- Should be read as "Choose a card randomly from another lord's hand. That lord discards the card chosen."

Failing Heart
- The targeted troop returns to his lord's Defensive Holdings if this invocation is used.

Righteous Hand
- You must target an assigned troop. That troop then automatically does a wound to his assignment during his normal combat resolution phase, without the need for a die roll, and regardless of the target's offense and the assignment's defense.
- This does not score any additional wounds.
- If the target has fierce, then the normal 2 wounds are dealt.
- Example: Target has an offense of 1 and defense of 1, while the assignment has an offense of 5 and defense of 5. No modifiers are used. Even though it is normally impossible for the target to score a wound against his assignment, Righteous Hand allows a wound to be scored anyway. His assignment would then wound back as normal.

Soul Chain
- Can target a troop that just moved to the battlefield it simply switches controllers for the combat
- Cannot target a troop that is not involved in the battle. The troop must be an enemy troop, and troops are only considered to be enemy troops if they are currently in a battle that you are participating in, and they are not controlled by you.
- For all intents and purposes, Soul Chain works like a support troop would the invoker of Soul Chain may choose to assign the troop however he wishes, and does not need to listen to input from the target's lord.
- Can target any troop controlled by an opponent.
- If the troop is exhausted, no additional payments are required.

Items

Bow
- Bow has no effect on troops that already have the ranged ability.
- Bow's 3 offense may be modified normally (e.g. through the pray ability).

Defender's Blade
- The controller of the troop chooses which bonus to give his troop. This choice can be made at any time during battle before die rolls are made, but once it is made it cannot be changed.
- Defender's Blade "resets" after each battle, and during the next battle the bearer participates in, his owner can once again choose between the two bonuses.The defender ability does not require the bearer to exhaust.
- The +2 defense bonus stacks with the troop's original offense.

Finely Crafted Plate Mail
- The defensive bonus stacks with the bearer's original defense.

Holy Long Sword
- May only be used by members of The Glory of Kalim (Kalimites).

Horn of Heroes
- Target troop does not need the support ability to be summoned via the Horn of Heroes.
- Target does not need to be participating in the battle already, but may be. If this is the case, he is considered to have, in effect, switched sides, and comes under the control of the bearer's lord.
- The target troop need not be controlled by an opponent; if playing in a team game, you may use Horn of Heroes to gain control of one of your teammate's troops for the battle.

Hunter's Horn
- Offensive bonus is given to any troops assigned to wanderers.
- Can be used either during a hunt, or if wanderers are attacking your holdings
- This offensive bonus stacks with their original offense.
- As with any ability that does not state a defined time limit, the effect of Hunter's Horn lasts until the current phase ends.

Krailin's Staff
- Wanderer can be participating in combat when Krailin's Staff is used. If this is the case, the new wanderers are placed in the wanderer row and do not join the combat.
- During combat Krailin's Staff may only be used during the modification step.
- Can be used any time that an action could be taken. This includes during combat (provided that the target is in combat), and after checking for aggression in the wanderer phase.
- The wanderers that come into play are treated as any other wanderers who come into play. Aggressions are not checked on them until they are in play at the beginning of a wanderer phase.

Lirian's Tiara
- This bonus stacks with the bearer's original political strength.
- Bearer must be female. Gender is not marked in 1st edition. Thus, the valid targets from 1st Edition are: Brienne Toriam, Charin Molair, Joliet Selure, Laranna Secour, Mariane Ludrim, Norine Embars, Oracle, Priestess of Kalim, Rhiana Therou, Shilaar Rhiard, Amena Hurr, Katlyn Bromar, Lawyer, Lorisa Arasham, Lorwin Mistaire, Orea Falant, Triere Volorn, Helen Atrana, Bowman (Veterans), Heris Lacauld, Nadine Entara, and Srilin Kalammai.
- Although some people mistake them as such (or due to the fact that they are hidden with heavy armor), the following personalities are NOT female: Lence Moriallis, Zealot, Eian Perone, Hews Etherin, Senator Mirrows, Wall Archer (Mosfin), Bannion Rowens, Calowen Rowens, Efferon Halimbar, Jerion Millins, Knight (Veterans), Merion Dumar, Shield Master, Troman Belcarion, and Vohl Silcrisp. Also any personality not listed in the list of females above is considered automatically to be male.

Lord's Standard
- This bonus stacks with the troops' original offense or defense.

Master's Chainmail
- This bonus stacks with the troop's original defense.

Mirror of Lacef
- Choosing a card randomly from an opponent's hand does not let you place that card in your hand at all. It is selected and the opponent immediately discards it into his own discard pile.
- Although the Mirror's bearer is a structure, it follows all normal rules for structures. Thus, may be traded between structures normally, and is placed in the discard pile if the structure it is in is destroyed.

Powder Keg
- This bonus stacks with the troop's original offense.
- Powder Keg is a one use item. Should a troop manage to attack multiple times during a battle (such as with the berserk ability), the bonus is only given once.

Ring of the Doppelganger
- Ring of the Doppelganger can copy any ability; it need not be a common ability (also known as a "keyword" ability).
- The Ring copies the ability exactly, including any requirements (such as exhausting).
- Treat the ability as if it was printed on the bearer.

Scepter of Ages
- This bonus stacks with the bearer's original religious strength.

Seer's Crystal
- Can target any type of draw pile, owned by any player.

Soon's Liquid Life
- This ability does require an action.
- This ability cannot be used in-between rounds in combat.

Spyglass
- For the purpose of using military events, the bearer is considered to have +1 military/economic strength.

Stone of Perserverence
- Negates a target persuade attempt.

Stone of Protection
- Can only be used during the modification step of combat. .

Superior Long Sword
- Hand to hand combat includes both fleetfoot and normal melee combat.
- Gives no bonus to a troop with the ranged ability, unless that card specifies that it can attack using hand to hand combat.

Wings of Light
- Bearer's controller may choose to land the troop at any time, as per normal.

Strongholds

Ariam's Temple
- Healing ability cannot be used to stop a troop from dying.
- Healing ability cannot be used during battle.
- Healing ability requires a normal action to activate. It cannot be activated as a reaction.
- Resource-gathering ability may only take tokens from the City's Influence Pool.

Castle Melkwith
- Combat ability exhausts any troops assigned to Castle Melkwith following the combat.
- Resource-gathering ability may only take tokens from the City's Influence Pool.

Horn Sky Keep
- Whenever a troop assigns to Horn Sky Keep, its combat ability can be used to send that troop home. This combat ability may only be used to target one troop per combat.
- Resource-gathering ability may only take tokens from the City's Influence Pool.

Lord's Estate
- Resource-gathering ability may only take tokens from the City's Influence Pool.

Lord's Palace
- Resource-gathering ability may only take tokens from the City's Influence Pool.

Strom's Tower
- Combat bonus is given to any troops assigned to Strom's Tower as guards, or to any troop assigning to a troop that is assigned to Strom's Tower.

Structures

Aristocrat's Haven
- Discard ability lets you only search through your discard pile, and cannot be used to search through your dead pile.
- If only one token is in the City's Influence Pool, the influence-collecting ability can be used to collect it.
- When the lord activates the influence-collecting ability, he chooses which pool the token(s) will be collected from. Only one pool may be targeted per use of the ability.

Bell Tower
- Defensive bonus stacks with the target's original defense.
- Bell Tower can be released independently of the structure it is attached to.

Blacksmith's Shop
- Discard ability lets you only search through your discard pile, and cannot be used to search through your dead pile.
- If only one token is in the City's Influence Pool, the influence-collecting ability can be used to collect it.
- When the lord activates the influence-collecting ability, he chooses which pool the token(s) will be collected from. Only one pool may be targeted per use of the ability.

Brothel
- Targeted citizen can not unexhaust unless the Brothel is unexhausted.
- When the Brothel is unexhausted, the counter placed by that Brothel are removed. Counters placed by other Brothels are unaffected.
- Owner of Brothel can choose not to exhaust Brothel during the City Maintenance phase.
- Each copy of Brothel in play may affect only one target at a time.

Builder's Guild
- The cost for a structure can never be below 0.
- The lord controlling Builder's Guild does not need to use the ability when he plays a structure.
- This ability is played as a reaction.

Campaign Office
- Second ability should be treated as "exchange up to three economic influence tokens in your Personal Influence Pool for the same number of political influence tokens from the City's Influence Pool."
- If only one token is in the City's Influence Pool, the influence-collecting ability can be used to collect it.
- When the lord activates the influence-collecting ability, he chooses which pool the token(s) will be collected from. Only one pool may be targeted per use of the ability.

Chapel
- Ability should be treated as "exchange up to three economic influence tokens in your Personal Influence Pool for the same number of religious influence tokens from the City's Influence Pool."

Coliseum
- Can be used to target any troop in play, even your own troop.
- No other participants may join the battle other than the target troop and the target troop controlled by you.
- Combat follows all normal rules and procedures.
- Cannot be used during combat.
- Neither troop can be released from play from the time that the Coliseum is used to the time that the resulting battle ends.
- Killing a unique personality of your own does not give a valor gain.

College
- Cannot be used to reduce the cost of a citizen below 0.
- The lord controlling College chooses which influence cost type to reduce (i.e. they may choose to reduce economic cost by 1, or religious cost by 1, or political cost by 1). This cost reduction is chosen each time that a citizen is played.
- The lord controlling College does not need to use the ability when he plays a citizen.
- This ability is played as a reaction.

Construction Guild
- If a structure is played by paying 0 tokens, then the lord controlling Construction Guild collects no influence.
- Each time a structure is played by an opponent, the lord controlling Construction Guild may only take one influence from the actual tokens paid for the structure. Thus, if an opponent pays for a structure in all religious tokens, then the lord controlling Construction Guild may only choose to take one of those religious tokens, not a token of any other kind.

Field Hospital
- Each troop may only have one wound healed at Field Hospital per combat.
- If a troop receives more than one wound that would normally kill it, only the first may be healed.

Fine Clothing Shop
- Strength bonus ability may not be played as a reaction.
- The strength bonus ability stacks with the target's original strength.
- If only one token is in the City's Influence Pool, the influence-collecting ability can be used to collect it.
- When the lord activates the influence-collecting ability, he chooses which pool the token(s) will be collected from. Only one pool may be targeted per use of the ability.

Guard House
- Use general counters for Guard House's ability.
- Each Guard House can have no more than 3 counters in play at any given time.
- When a counter is used, it is placed on the structure that it is giving the bonus to.
- Counters may be placed on a structure at any time outside of combat.
- During combat counters may only be placed on a structure during the combat modification phase.
- Counters may be removed at any time, but as normal, cannot be removed after die rolls have been made in battle.
- Bonus given by counters lasts until the end of a combat in which the structure was attacked.

Guillotine
- Guillotine is used as a normal action. It cannot be used as a reaction.
- To determine how many cards need to be discarded, look at the target citizen's political strength and religious strength. If the religious strength is higher than the political strength, then a number of cards equal to the religious strength must be discarded from the Guillotine's controller's hand. If the political strength is higher than the religious strength, then a number of cards equal to the political strength must be discarded from the Guillotine's controller's hand.
- Immediately following the use of Guillotine other lords may exhaust personalities with faction influence to destroy the Guillotine. The total amount of faction influence that must be exhausted is equal to 2 times the number of players (4 in a 2-player game, 6 in a 3-player game). Any or all other players may exhaust personalities. All other players need not participate to destroy the Guillotine (thus, one person may exhaust the required number worth to destroy the Guillotine, if he wishes).

Holy Site
- Battle ability causes all troops assigned to Holy Site to exhaust following the combat.
- If only one token is in the City's Influence Pool, the influence-collecting ability can be used to collect it.
- When the lord activates the influence-collecting ability, he chooses which pool the token(s) will be collected from. Only one pool may be targeted per use of the ability.

Inn
- Cannot be used to save a troop from dying.
- Cannot be used as a reaction the Inn's ability requires a full action to use.

Law School
- If only one token is in the City's Influence Pool, the influence-collecting ability can be used to collect it.
- When the lord activates the influence-collecting ability, he chooses which pool the token(s) will be collected from. Only one pool may be targeted per use of the ability.

Lumber Mill
- Cost-reducing ability is played as a reaction.
- Cost-reducing ability cannot be used to reduce the cost of the structure below 0. If the cost of the structure is less than 4, any un-used reduction is lost and cannot be applied to another structure.
- Cost-reducing ability may only be used to reduce the cost of a structure being played by the Lumber Mill's controller.
- If only one token is in the City's Influence Pool, the influence-collecting ability can be used to collect it.
- When the lord activates the influence-collecting ability, he chooses which pool the token(s) will be collected from. Only one pool may be targeted per use of the ability.

Manor
- The manor has no abilities. This is not a misprint.

Pig Farm
- If only one token is in the City's Influence Pool, the influence-collecting ability can be used to collect it.
- When the lord activates the influence-collecting ability, he chooses which pool the token(s) will be collected from. Only one pool may be targeted per use of the ability.

Political Forum
- Exhausting ability can be used to exhaust any structure that produces influence tokens. It cannot be used on a structure that merely exchanges influence tokens (this currently includes Chapel).
- If only one token is in the City's Influence Pool, the influence-collecting ability can be used to collect it.
- When the lord activates the influence-collecting ability, he chooses which pool the token(s) will be collected from. Only one pool may be targeted per use of the ability.

Portcullis
- Portcullis can only be used to remove troops from battle; it cannot be used on a wanderer.
- The lord using Portcullis chooses which troop is removed from battle.
- When used, Portcullis removes one troop from the battle, and it is not considered to have attacked. It cannot later rejoin the battle.
- The troop sent home does not exhaust.

Sacred Pool
- Sacred Pool cannot be destroyed in any type of combat, including one initiated by a card such as Sewer Tunnel.
- Sacred Pool can be destroyed by non-battle cards or abilities, such as Fire!, or Domian Rickson's come into play ability.
- If only one token is in the City's Influence Pool, the influence-collecting ability can be used to collect it.
- When the lord activates the influence-collecting ability, he chooses which pool the token(s) will be collected from. Only one pool may be targeted per use of the ability.

Sewer Tunnel
- No more than 2 troops may attack through the single use of a single Sewer Tunnel
- Sewer Tunnel can be used to attack any structure in play that is controlled by another lord.
- Berserk cannot in conjunction with Sewer Tunnel, as the card lets you only target a single structure.
- Sewer Tunnel cannot be used during another battle of any type.
- You cannot call in support troops with Sewer Tunnel the troops must be under your control.
- Combat follows all normal combat rules.
- There is no limit to the size of the troop that attacks with Sewer Tunnel troops with giant size, or troops that do not make sense to fit through a tunnel (such as a catapult) can attack. In effect, the sewer is bigger than you think.
- Both troops must attack the same structure.

Shrine
- The offensive bonus is only given to troops defending your holdings. Thus, it only applies if you are being attacked by either an opponent's troops, or by wanderers.
- The bonus is given to any troops defending your holdings, so troops gained through the support ability are given the bonus.
- The bonus is only given if the Shrine is unexhausted.
- If only one token is in the City's Influence Pool, the influence-collecting ability can be used to collect it.
- When the lord activates the influence-collecting ability, he chooses which pool the token(s) will be collected from. Only one pool may be targeted per use of the ability.

Stable
- Stable can move a troop onto a structure to act as a guard.
- Stable can also move a troop off of a structure into the defensive holdings so that can join in a battle normally.
- Can be used during battle up to the beginning of the assignment phase.

Statue
- Statue must receive the first assignment in any part of a combat that takes place in the private holdings row (i.e. whenever a troop bypasses the battlefield and tries to attack a structure, it must first assign to the Statue).
- Only the first troop must attack the statue; additional troops may assign to other structures normally.

Storehouse
- Storehouse may store a maximum of 2 cards in it at any one time.
- If 2 cards are already under Storehouse, you may not use the storage part of the ability.
- Cards placed under Storehouse may be placed either face down or face up; this is at the discretion of the lord using Storehouse.
- Cards cannot be removed from Storehouse as a reaction.
- Cards cannot be played while they are under Storehouse.
- Cards under Storehouse no longer count towards a lord's hand limit. Thus, if there are two cards under Storehouse, he may still draw up to a full hand of seven cards.

Tavern
- Tavern cannot be used as a reaction. It requires a full action to use.
- Tavern can be used on a troop currently in battle.

Temple
- Cost reduction reduces the cost to use an invocation, in religious tokens. Does not alter the cost to put an invocation into play.
- Healing ability cannot be used as a reaction, and cannot be used to stop a troop from dying.
- Healing ability cannot be used on a wanderer.

Temple of Light
- Does not stop a wanderer from participating in the battle.
- Can only be used on a wanderer who has become aggressive and is attacking a lord.
- Wanderer does not need to be attacking the lord controlling Temple of Light.
- To use the healing ability, there needs to be a personality specifically residing in Temple of Light with a religious strength of 1 or more.
- Troops placed on the Temple of Light as guards may exhaust to heal another troop 1 wound in this way if they have a religious strength of 1 or more. The troop may not heal itself.

Temple of the Dead
- To return a personality from the dead pile, a lord can only remove counters specifically placed on Temple of the Dead when it came into play.

Temple of Tranquility
- This ability may be used in a combat. It does not prevent a troop from participating in the combat, although it does reduce their offense to zero (as per normal).

Tranquil Gardens
- This ability may be used during combat.
- A personality unexhausted using Tranquil Gardens may once again use any abilities that require it to exhaust.
- Tranquil Gardens may be used during the modification step of combat.

Trebuchet
- Trebuchet does not exhaust until after combat, so its offense is considered 3 for the combat.
- If two or more Trebuchets do a joint attack, the 2 political cost must be paid for each and each exhausts as a result following the combat.
- The only card or ability that may alter this attack in any way is another Trebuchet.
- Combat modification die rolls are still made.
- In an attack where multiple Trebuchets are used, only the first trebuchet needs to be under active player's control. During that attack, any other Trebuchet may use its ability as a reaction, provided that it is used to do a joint attack with the first Trebuchet. A Trebuchet may only use its ability as a reaction if it joining an attack initiated by another Trebuchet as a full action.
- A trebuchet attack may be comprised of Trebuchets controlled by multiple lords.
- There is no limit to the number of Trebuchets that may participate in a joint attack using this ability.
- Trebuchets using their ability may not be wounded via any means.

Watch Tower
- Watch Tower does not exhaust the wanderer; it merely returns it to its home wanderer row.

Walls

Great Stone Wall
- Wall only gives the defensive bonus to troops when the wall's owner is attacked.
- The troops may either be in the private holdings as a guard, or in the battle field defending the lord's holdings.

Stone Wall
- Wall only gives the defensive bonus to troops when the wall's owner is attacked.
- The troops may either be in the private holdings as a guard, or in the battle field defending the lord's holdings.

Wooden Barricade
- Wall only gives the defensive bonus to troops when the wall's owner is attacked.
- The troops may either be in the private holdings as a guard, or in the battle field defending the lord's holdings.